Cayman Islands Geography

By | October 27, 2021

The three Cayman Islands, Grand Cayman, Little Cayman and Cayman Brac are located below Cuba and belong to an underground limestone mountain range protected by coral reefs Cuba extends to the Gulf of Honduras.

According to COLLEGETOPPICKS.COM, the Cayman Islands are a paradise for divers. Comparably beautiful Coral reef does not exist in the whole of the Caribbean. Especially at Seven Mile Beach on Grand Cayman you can reach the diving grounds after about 200 meters. But sport fishermen also get their money’s worth on the Cayman Islands. A unique biodiversity and the constant wandering of the schools of fish make every angler’s heart beat faster. Whether tuna, swordfish or fanfish – rare species can be pulled out of the water here.

The capital, George Town, is the cultural and economic center of the archipelago with 31,000 residents. Sights here include the bell tower, the Cayman Maritime and Treasure Museum and the Mc Kees Museum, which has numerous treasures from the shipwrecks of the 16th century.

The Cayman Islands used to be an exporter of turtles and clams. Because turtles were placed under nature protection, this economic branch collapsed almost completely. But the Cayman Islands were able to save themselves from this economic crisis. Especially the capital George Town as one of the largest financial centers worldwide. This is due to the fact that most of the large banks have set up branches here or are active here. Due to the far-reaching tax exemption, the Cayman Islands are also known as a tax haven and are particularly known as a so-called numbered account country. Most of the people who invest their money here never see the islands. In response to international pressure, the Cayman Islands government had to conclude financial policy agreements with various countries. This is to eradicate the bad reputation as a tax haven.

Cayman Islands – key data

Area: 264 km²

Population: 51,384 (July 2011, CIA). Mixed ancestors 40%, whites 20%, blacks 20%, expatriates of different ethnic groups 20%.

Population density: 195 residents per km²

Population growth: 2.287% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: George Town on Grand Cayman (30,570 residents, 2006)

Highest point: The Bluff (Cayman Brac), 43 m

Lowest point: Caribbean, 0 m

Form of government: The Cayman Islands have been one since 1962BritishCrown colony with internal self-administration. The constitution dates from 1959, the last amendment was made in 1994. The Legislative Council consists of 18 members, 15 of which are elected by direct election.

The British governor is responsible for security, foreign and defense policy. he is also the chairman of the executive council, which has seven members (three appointed by the governor and four members of the legislative council, who are chosen by the governor).

Head of Government: Prime Minister Alden McNee McLaughlin, Jr., since May 29, 2013

Head of State: British Queen Elizabeth II, represented by Governor Duncan Taylor since January 15, 2010

Language: The official language on the Cayman Islands is English. Also is patois spoken often, as well as Cuban and Central American Spanish dialects.

Religion: Mainly United Church (including Presbyterians and Congregational Church). In addition, Anglicans, Baptists, Church of God and other Protestant churches and Catholics.

Local time: CET -6 h. There is no change between summer and winter time on the Cayman Islands. The time difference to Central Europe is -6 h in winter and -7 h in summer.

International phone code: +1 (345)


Mains voltage: 110 V, 60 Hz. Since American flat plugs are often used, adapters are required.

Cayman Islands – Geography

The Cayman Islands are a British overseas territory, the territory of which is formed by three islands in the Caribbean Sea: Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. The Cayman Islands are 240 km south of Cuba and 268 km northwest of Jamaica and are located between Cuba and Central America. The geographic coordinates are 19 ° 30 north and 80 ° 30 west.

The Cayman Islands have an area of ​​262 square kilometers (7 square kilometers more than Saint Kitts and Nevis), the coastline is 160 km long and claims a 12 nautical mile zone, which is said to be part of the territory, as well as an exclusive 200 nautical miles fishing zone.

The islands represent the peaks of a mountain range lying under the sea, which runs from Cuba to the Gulf of Honduras. The eastern and western coast is protected by coral reefs.

The highest point is The Bluff, a 43 m high limestone cliff at the eastern end of eastern Cayman Brac.

The surface is characterized by mostly low-lying limestone, which is surrounded by coral reefs.

A major environmental problem is the lack of fresh water. The drinking water supply must be secured by collecting rainwater and seawater desalination.

Natural resources contain on the one hand fish stocks, on the other hand a climate and beaches which make tourism (the largest industry of the islands) possible. In 2005 it was estimated that only 3.85% of the surface of the Cayman Islands was used for agriculture. The tropical cyclones that can occur during the Atlantic hurricane season from July to November are a major natural hazard.

Traveling in Cayman Islands