Tag Archives: Liberia

According to topschoolsintheusa.com, Liberia is a small West African nation situated on the Atlantic Coast. It has an area of 111,369 square kilometers and shares borders with Guinea, Cote d’Ivoire, and Sierra Leone. Liberia’s terrain is mostly flat coastal plains which rise to rolling hills and mountains in the interior. The country’s highest peak is Mount Wuteve at 1,440 meters above sea level. The climate in Liberia is tropical with two distinct rainy seasons between May and October as well as a dry season from November to April. Liberia’s educational system follows a three-tier structure beginning with primary education for students aged 6-14 years old. Primary education consists of six grades and is compulsory for all children between 7-13 years old. Secondary education consists of seven grades and can be pursued at either public or private schools depending on individual needs. The curriculum focuses on core subjects such as Maths, English, Science, Social Studies, Physical Education and Life Skills as well as other electives such as music or art. After completing secondary school students may choose to pursue tertiary level studies at one of Liberia’s universities or colleges offering degrees in areas such as engineering, medicine, business management or law. See searchforpublicschools for Liberia Overview.

Liberia Modern History

Liberia is a country located in Western Africa. With the capital city of Monrovia, Liberia has a population of 5,057,692 based on a recent census from COUNTRYAAH. The years between 1980 and 2003 were the darkest in Liberia’s history, characterized by war and economic mismanagement. A large part of the population saw their existence beaten… Read More »

Liberia Healthcare and Money

Health care Vaccinations Vaccination needed receipt required yellow fever 1 Eat Drink 4 – malaria 3 – Typhoid & Polio Yes – cholera 2 Overview Medical care in the country cannot be compared to Europe and is often highly problematic in terms of technology, equipment and/or hygiene. There is a pronounced shortage of medical specialists.… Read More »

Nobel Peace Prize 2011 Part II

Ellen Sirleaf is not an American Liberian. She is half Gola, a quarter Kru (original ethnic groups) and a quarter German. She was born in 1938 in the capital Monrovia and was allowed to go to high school. She got married and had 4 sons who the family took care of when she went to… Read More »

Nobel Peace Prize 2011 Part I

“Magnificent” – “fantastically important” – “really tinned” – “historical”. There was no shortage of good words when the Nobel Committee announced who would receive the Peace Prize for 2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee from Liberia and Tawakkol Karman from Yemen received the prize for their non-violent struggle for a peaceful value. But the… Read More »